Date of Completion

Spring 5-8-2011

Thesis Advisor(s)

Thomas Shea

Honors Major



Literature in English, British Isles


This paper will discuss, compare, and contrast the three main works of the Blasket Island authors: Peig, by Peig Sayers, The Islandman by Tomas O'Crohan, and Twenty Years A-Growing by Maurice O'Sullivan. It will seek to identify unique elements of style, content, and purpose among the three authors, and in doing so will illuminate each piece's contributions to Blasket lore. Collectively, the paper should serve as a thorough introduction to Blasket literature and its overall place in Irish literature